Meet Alabama's Writing "Hall of Fame" inductees

Dec 14, 2014

The inaugural class for the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame has been selected. The Tuscaloosa News reports 12 writers have been selected and will be inducted in June 2015. The hall of fame is a partnership between the Alabama Center for the Book and the Alabama Writer's Forum. The 12 writers selected are: Rick Bragg, Andrew Glaze, Harper Lee, Sonia Sanchez, Sena Jeter Naslund and posthumous inductees Johnson Jones Hooper, Augusta Jane Evans Wilson, Helen Keller, Zora Neal Hurston, William March, Albert Murray and Helen Norris Bell. The University of Alabama, which is home to the Alabama Center for the Book, said in a news release that the an advisory committee of scholars, writers and arts volunteers met in June to consider nominees.