Digital Media Center
Bryant-Denny Stadium, Gate 61
920 Paul Bryant Drive
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0370
(800) 654-4262

© 2024 Alabama Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Ala. House Speaker Gives Oath To 3 New Members

Montgomery, AL – Three new members of the Alabama House have been sworn-in by Speaker Seth Hammett.

The newcomers were sworn-in just minutes after the start of the 2010 regular session of the Legislature on Tuesday.

Hammett gave the oath to Democratic Rep. Elaine Beech of Chatom. Beech was elected in November in a special election to replace former Rep. Mark Keahey as the House District 65 representative.

Democratic Rep. Lawrence McAdory of Bessemer was also sworn in Tuesday. McAdory was elected in a special election in November to the House District 56 seat vacated when former Rep. Priscilla Dunn was elected to the Senate.

Also taking the oath of office Tuesday was Republican Rep. Phil Williams of Huntsville. Williams was elected in July to replace Democratic Rep. Sue Schmitz in House District 6.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

News from Alabama Public Radio is a public service in association with the University of Alabama. We depend on your help to keep our programming on the air and online. Please consider supporting the news you rely on with a donation today. Every contribution, no matter the size, propels our vital coverage. Thank you.