Carolyn Haines

“Charmed Bones: A Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery”

Author: Carolyn Haines  

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Pages: 368

Price: $25.90 (Hardcover)

Readers were astonished when Sue Grafton undertook to write a series of mysteries beginning with "A Is for Alibi." The series was projected to be 26 volumes long!

“Sticks and Bones: A Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery”

Author: Carolyn Haines   

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Pages: 354

Price: $25.99 (Hardcover)

Here it is, the seventeenth Sarah Booth Delaney mystery. Like most of the previous, the story is set in the Mississippi Delta. Sarah Booth lives in Dahlia House, in Zinnia, Mississippi, in Sunflower County. This novel is longer than most Bones books, but the plot is engaging and Haines’s fans won’t mind.

Booty Bones

Jun 2, 2014

  “Booty Bones: A Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery”
Author: Carolyn Haines
Publisher: St. Martin’s Publishing Group, Minotaur Books
Pages: 355
Price: $24.99 (Hardback)

Carolyn Haynes has now published 14 Sarah Booth Delaney “Bones” mysteries over the past 15 years.

What started as a series set at Dahlia House, in Sunflower County, Zinnia, in the Mississippi Delta, has done some travelling.

After nine Sarah Booth Delaney novels, Carolyn Haines faces the same problems as the writers of Murder, She Wrote.

Audio ?2010 Alabama Public Radio

Carolyn Haines, a native Mississippian, now of Semmes, Alabama... has taken some time out to solicit, collect and edit these 19 short stories, all set in the Mississippi Delta

Audio ?2010 Alabama Public Radio

Wishbones is the eighth in Carolyn Haines' "Bones" series, and is a little different from its predecessors. The series' premises were set out in Them Bones. Sarah Booth Delaney returns to her home, Dahlia House, in Zinnia, Mississippi, Sunflower County, because the family place is threatened with foreclosure. Sarah Booth's parents died in a crash when she was twelve and she has been in NYC in a not very successful attempt to establish a career as an actress.


Dec 31, 2007

There are certain venues?times and places?that are problematical or, alternatively, rich for a novelist. If, for example, a novel is set in Honolulu on Saturday, December 6, 1941, any conversation between characters about what they plan to do tomorrow, go on a picnic, say, is fraught with meaning?to the reader, not to the characters. The same holds true for New York City in early September 2001, and so on. Carolyn Haines sets her new novel, Revenant, in August of 2005 on the Mississippi Coast, in Biloxi.


May 14, 2007

Haines the novelist has a penchant for the dark and violent, and she has taken time off from the Bones books to indulge this urge; Penumbra is indeed dark, violent, disturbing, nearly melodramatic.

Caroline Haines of Semmes, Alabama, has been publishing novels for many years. After a score of genre novels, she published Summer of the Redeemers and Touched, and then Haines seemed to have hit the mother lode with her Sarah Booth Delaney mystery series.

Hallowed Bones

May 17, 2004

Sarah Booth Delaney, an orphan, in her thirties, after an unsuccessful attempt to establish an acting career in New York City, has returned to the family home, Dahlia House, in Zinnia, Sunflower County, in the Mississippi Delta.

Hallowed Bones

Them Bones, Buried Bones, Splintered Bones, Crossed Bones, and now Hallowed Bones?Carolyn Haines? fifth Sarah Booth Delaney mystery novel and her best yet.

My Mother's Witness

Sep 8, 2003

Carolyn Haines, who has for the last few years been writing the delightful "Bones" mystery series, set in Mississippi, has here written her first nonfiction book. My Mother's Witness: The Peggy Morgan Story is a kind of dual biography of both Peggy Morgan and her mother, Inez.

My Mother's Witness