Silas House

“The Hurting Part: Evolution of an American Play”

Author: Silas House  

Publisher: Motes Books

Louisville KY


Price: $12.00 (Paperback)

Pages: 119

Readers love a literary origin story. Did the gigantic Thomas Wolfe really write using the top of the refrigerator for a desk? Did Erskine Caldwell really buy 30-day Greyhound passes and write and live in the back of the bus?

Even in such excellent company, Silas House's career has been something of a phenomenon. His first novel, "Clay's Quilt," came out in 2001, and his second and third, "A Parchment of Leaves" (2002) and "The Coal Tattoo"( 2004 ) both won Kentucky Novel of the Year awards. House has also won the Special Achievement Award from the fellowship of Southern Writers and Appalachian Book of the Year, and "Eli The Good" is his fourth novel in just nine years. (He has also written two plays. and two movies. No writer's block here.)