Digital Media Center
Bryant-Denny Stadium, Gate 61
920 Paul Bryant Drive
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0370
(800) 654-4262

© 2024 Alabama Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Five Counties Try Home Rule

By Alabama Public Radio

Undated, AL – Five counties are using their new home rule privileges. Earlier this month, voters in Mobile, Autauga, Dallas, Jackson and Marshall counties approved limited home rule. That gives counties more authority over local issues, such as litter, junkyards and dangerous animals. And, it means county commissions don't have to get legislative approval to address every local issue. The limited home rule does not allow counties to approve property taxes or zoning ordinances. Escambia, Bibb and DeKalb counties will vote on limited home rule in November's general election.

News from Alabama Public Radio is a public service in association with the University of Alabama. We depend on your help to keep our programming on the air and online. Please consider supporting the news you rely on with a donation today. Every contribution, no matter the size, propels our vital coverage. Thank you.