Governor Bentley Lists Finalists for U.S. Senate Seat

Feb 2, 2017

Governor Robert Bentley is naming six finalists for the U.S. Senate seat now held by attorney general nominee Jeff Sessions.  

Bentley's list includes U.S. Representative Robert Aderholt of Haleyville and the pro tem of the State Senate, Del Marsh of Anniston.

Others include State Attorney General Luther Strange; Bentley appointee Jim Byard; state Representative Connie Rowe of Jasper; and former state legislator Perry Hooper Jr. of Montgomery.

All six are Republicans, like Sessions. Bentley will appoint one of them to the Senate seat if Sessions is confirmed as President Donald Trump's attorney general.

Bentley has interviewed 20 people for the position. He will name an interim senator until an election, which will be held in 2018 to fill Sessions' seat until his current term ends in January 2021.